GO Transit vs. the world

After delving in to the world of GO Transit, I’ve come up with a few key “issues” for them to address.

Research at a glance

My primary research (thank goodness GO Transit conducts surveys so that I don’t have to) indicates that there are two specific areas GO Transit should address. One is “comfortable experience” and the other I’ll argue is “keeping you in the know.” The latter, I think it an area for improvement because it’s their lowest target and they haven’t posted the results. I’ll keep watching those scores…

Based on my secondary research of Facebook posts evaluation and GO Transit’s use of Twitter, it seems to me that customers aren’t feeling heard. Strange. Because GO Transit conducts those surveys. I wonder if everyone knows about that survey or how to participate?

I chose these formats because, in combination, they’re a great representation of the issues GO Transit is currently facing.  It just so happens, they’re also a great way for GO Transit to turn the negatives into positives. To me, it just makes sense to use these same platforms to communicate improvements and ask for feedback going forward.

“I’m learnding!”

Now that we know what’s standing in its way, GO Transit can move forward with a few objectives.

My suggestions? GO Transit needs to:

  1. Ask passengers (from my target audience in this case) their preferred method of communication and use those platforms to communicate going forward.
  2. Engage its audiences and actively build supportive online communities through increased, proactive use of social media tools. For example, use social media to ask customers what the company can be doing better instead of using Facebook and Twitter accounts as inboxes.
  3. Address the concerns of passengers (like comfort, services and fare hikes) and then communicate the results to those same publics.
  4. Be vocal about what the company can and cannot address and communicate improvements (and be honest about the shortcomings too) on those same platforms.

End scene

Even though GO Transit has a monopoly on the commuter rails, its goals still focus on customer satisfaction. If the company can engage passengers in a positive way, it’ll be sure to build its supportive online communities. Maybe then, GO Transit will garner more advocates and won’t have to defend itself as much.

8 thoughts on “GO Transit vs. the world

  1. allaboutdot says:

    This is an interesting topic. I rarely use the Go Train myself but I hear stories from many commuters and most of them are not the greatest regarding customer service.
    After reading your blog today, I went to the Gotransit website and noticed they had a report card and the next customer satisfaction survey will be issued in February 2012. I’m curious what the results will be and if their overall rating will be better.

  2. Beth Amer says:

    Dani, last time I travelled GO, I put my shoulder out keeping my bag on my lap, whilst avoiding footsie with my facing-seatmate, and trying to text. Can you add on spacious seating to this project 😛 please?

  3. mcivorda says:

    I am always impressed with your ability to get to the point succinctly. I find it so easy to follow your ‘train’ of thought. (*snicker) In any case, I hope GO Transit pays attention to you because I think you’re voicing concerns of hundreds of people.

  4. Pun appreciated 😉
    Thanks, Deb. We’ll see which project moves ahead for the group assignment!

  5. mymuse1 says:

    I really enjoyed reading your posts! Everything flowed smoothy and your recommendations make sense. Do you feel that the impacts of changes to those areas can all be addressed/measured through their survey results? It’s nice to know they’ve set a framework for their metrics but, as you mentioned, it doesn’t mean much if they’re not going to communicate back to their customers (or better yet, listen to them).

    • I think there are a few inherent flaws in the survey. Even if you click beyond the surface result categories, as you point out, all issues aren’t necessarily addressed. And the survey waits for participation from passengers who check the website regularly rather than seeks it out through other mediums. GO Transit also sticks to their “promises” as an outline which may neglect some of the concerns customers raise on other platforms (like Facebook, for example). So the results may not be a full representation of “satisfaction”. It’s only really a smaller splice. Not necessarily a bad thing, but deserves some context.
      Hopefully, some of the research we’ve got going on here adds to the conversation instead of narrows it.
      Thanks for the question!

Leave a Reply

