Plan ahead — lesson, the 2nd

However pitiable it might be, it’s time to impart my wisdom. Again!

Plan like you’ve never planned before

In the throes of my case study research, I often found it difficult to visualize the end result. There’s so much information to wade through, and having to blog about my research has been so different from other, more traditional academic requirements. It was a challenge to “see the forest for the trees.”

Personally, I like to learn by doing. So, after completing the first part of this semester-long project, I can tell you that
planning is paramount
.

Particularly for an academic blog, advanced planning makes all the difference for keeping up with regular posts. When you’re tackling a case study (like my fellow #smrtcce classmates and I have been doing this semester) it can be even tougher to get that up-front planning done before you sit down to write.

And, in an attempt to have some semblance of a social life, I’ve been forced to plan ahead.  In a perfect world, I’d tell you that this works 100% of the time. But like I mention in my first lesson, something always manages to get in the way. Reality usually works out a little more like that Brian Fantana quote from Anchorman: “They’ve done studies, you know. 60% of the time, it works every time.”

Image courtesy of quickmeme.com

Big picture

This #smrtcce lesson has a broader meaning for the PR profession too. PR pros often find themselves in tactician roles and we struggle to find a way to work toward that strategist role.

It’s important to keep the end result (or big picture) front of mind and work toward that goal, strategically. Even if it means doing a lot of the planning up front.

Short-term pain for long-term gain, if you ask me. Armed with a clear, logical plan that aligns with the strategic business goals of your company, you’ll be better positioned to get that coveted seat at the executive table.

2 thoughts on “Plan ahead — lesson, the 2nd

  1. autoblot says:

    Plus, you’ll spend more time doing things that actually get you closer to your goals, instead of spinning your wheels. Good post!

Leave a Reply

